Education & Experience

Emily Garai

I graduated from Wesleyan University with a BA in English. Realizing that my interest in literature stemmed from curiosity and passion about individual's stories, I spent the next two years gaining knowledge and experience in clinical psychology before beginning a Ph.D. program at the University of Vermont. 

As a graduate student, I completed clinical work with people of all ages and various mental health concerns including ADHD in children and adults, anxiety, depression, behavioral disorders in childhood, and PTSD. My research focused on preventing and treating anxiety and depression in children and refugee populations. 

I completed my internship at the Medical University of South Carolina and the Ralph H. Johnson VA in Charleston, South Carolina. There, I gained expertise in a number of areas. First, I learned to assess and develop treatment plans for individuals with developmental disabilities and Autism Spectrum Disorder. Second, I enhanced my skills working with trauma-survivors at the VA and National Crimes Victims Center. Third, I completed community outreach work, providing a variety of psychological services in homes and schools and collaborating with law enforcement, educators, and social workers.

In the years since completing my internship, I have conducted psychological evaluations and treatment for children and adults in the Atlanta area. During that time, I have built upon my skills treating trauma-related conditions, implementing cognitive-behavioral treatments for children and adults with ADHD, identifying and treating Autism Spectrum Disorder, and providing evidence-based treatment for most psychological conditions. I also developed expertise working with issues related to emerging sexual and gender identities and providing informed and compassionate care to LGBT families and parents of LGBT youth.

Currently, I maintain my private practice, serve as a part-time instructor at Georgia State University, and hold a psychologist position at the Children's Hospital of Atlanta - Egleston. 

Hobbies & Interests

I enjoy spending time outside with my wife and son, running just about anywhere (but especially in the mountains), doing yoga, playing with my dogs, reading, and drinking coffee in a quiet spot.